#triggered

Mx Mommy
3 min readDec 3, 2021

One of my favorite hashtags that has been trending around not only the internet but the casual vernacular of our social-media society is #triggered.

Image: Adobe Stock

When you get the parking spot right in front of your destination downtown you’re “hashtag-blessed”. When too much ketchup squirts out of the packet and you get a dot on your freshly ironed blouse, you’re “hashtag-triggered”.

Do you know what that means? Do you know what it means to be triggered?

As someone who has worked through therapy to stop things like night terrors and flashbacks, I’m not sure that your fashion-fopaux really counts as a ‘triggering event’

Saying things like “that’s so triggering” at benign events really deminishes the psychological and physical anguish associated with someone who has PTSD and sufferers from everyday events that send them into a flashback, a panic, an inescapable moment.

It also makes light of all psycho-physical, or purely psychological illnesses.

When I am #triggered, there is a weight in my chest. It feels like some invisible force is putting pressure against my head from all sides. Sometimes I get hot and sweaty, others I freeze and tense up.

It often happens when I hear someone that looks or sounds like him, or someone he closely interacted with. It doesn’t happen when I spill food…

--

--

Mx Mommy

Navigating my new role as “mom” admist the mountain of expectations that surround birthing parents. Tips: https://ko-fi.com/thewritingrose